According to old Bristolian folklore, Bristol was once home to two giants; Goram and Ghyston. This cave, situated in the St. Vincent rocks, was the giants’ home.
History tells how the cave was part of a small chapel in 305 AD. Romano-British pottery has revealed that it may have been a holy place and place of refuge. During the 17th century it is believed that it was home to a man living in religious solitude.
In the 19th century, the current building was converted from an old snuff mill to an observatory. In 1835, William West, artist, occupier and renovator of the Observatory, used a lateral shaft to dig from the building to the cave. It took two years for him to complete and cost £1300.
The tunnel leading down to the cave is 200 feet (61m) long and the cave opens out on the cliff face, 250 feet (76m) above the Avon gorge and 90 feet (27m) below the cliff top.
It offers picturesque views of the Suspension Bridge and River Avon. Snap up the opportunity for an incredible photo and don’t forget to share your pictures with us.
Please note that due to health and safety, children under the age of 4 are not permitted to enter the cave.